Special Services Support Staff – Certificated

 

Rita Parrish, Resource Teacher for The Visually Impaired
(619) 796-7522
Rita.Parrish@sweetwaterschools.org

Erika Priser, Teacher for The Visually Impaired
(619) 591-5193
Erika.Priser@sweetwaterschools.org

Lorna Berliner, Orientation & Mobility Specialist for The Visually Impaired
(619) 796-7520
Lorna.Berliner@sweetwaterschools.org

We are teachers of students with visual impairments for the district. The three of us service the vision needs of the 40+ students in our district who all have a visual impairment including some who have additional disabilities. We provide instruction in Braille and the Nemeth Code (the Braille code for Math and Science), the Expanded Core Curriculum, as well as support our students in being able to access their course curriculum using a variety of accommodations, manipulatives, and assistive technology. Along with our Orientation and Mobility instructor Lorna Berliner, our goal is to make our students as independent as possible once they leave our district and regardless of the severity of their visual impairment.

_________________________________________________________________

Jason Schmidt, Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA), Assistive Technology
(619) 796-7540
Jason.Schmidt@sweetwaterschools.org

_________________________________________________________________

Joseph Kreitinger, Counselor
(619) 796-7542
Joseph.Kreitinger@sweetwaterschools.org

__________________________________________________________________

Kitty Cancino, Resource Teacher, Career Coach
(619) 796-7580
Kitty.Cancino@sweetwaterschools.org

My name is Kitty Cancino and I am a California Career Innovations (CCI) transition career coach, using work-based learning experiences for students with disabilities on achievement in postsecondary education and competitive integrated employment (CIE).

__________________________________________________________________

Kristina Josafat, Resource Teacher, TPP Employment Transition Specialist 
(619) 796-7526
Kristina.Josafat@sweetwaterschools.org

TPP Employment Transition Specialist is a resource teacher position supported by a collaborative contract between SUHSD and Department of Rehabilitation (DOR). The work is focused on facilitating successful client transition into the postsecondary world of decision making, managing finances, disability disclosure, exploring career/employment options, etc. The program serves 100 clients, annually, who are identified and enrolled in the Transition Partnership Program.  The TPP Employment Transition Specialist provides guidance, opportunities, instruction and curriculum to TPP teachers to support clients in the umbrella areas of:

  • Job Exploration Counseling
  • Work-Based Learning Experiences
  • Postsecondary Counseling
  • Workplace Readiness Training
  • Self-Advocacy Training

_________________________________________________________________

Reid Burns, Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA)/Behavior Support Team (BeST)
(619) 796-7531
Reid.Burns@sweetwaterschools.org

__________________________________________________________________

Julie Barker-Rachow, Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA)/ Alternative Educational Placements
(619) 796-7500
Julie.Barker-Rachow@sweetwaterschools.org

__________________________________________________________________

Chelsea JohnsonAugmentative and Alternative Communication Specialist (AAC Specialist)
(619) 795-7540
Chelsea.Johnson@sweetwaterschools.org

__________________________________________________________________

Sesha Haines, Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA)
(619) 796-7500
Sesha.Haynes@sweetwaterschools.org

__________________________________________________________________